The home of the Seigneurs of Sark since 1730, La Seigneurie was built on the site of the sixth century monastery of St. Magloire. The present house has been altered and extended over the years with a large Victorian watch-tower erected in order that signalling could take place between the island and Guernsey. The formal, Royal Horticultural Society recognised gardens are amongst the finest in the Channel Islands.
Prior to 1730, the Seigneurie was at Le Manoir, the house of the first Seigneur, Helier de Carteret. When the owner of La Perronerie, Mrs Suzanne Le Pelley, purchased the Fief of Sark she preferred to remain in her own home rather than move to Le Manoir. La Perronerie then became the home of the Seigneurs. The current Seigneur, Michael Beaumont, inherited the Island from his Grandmother on her death in 1974.
The house was built around 1675 and has been altered and added to many times over the years. The big drawing room and tower were added in 1854 by the present Seigneur's great great grandfather, the Reverend W. T. Collings. The house is not open to the public.
Inside the grounds of La Seigneurie are several interesting items. A Elizabethan bronze cannon survives; inscribed 'Don de sa Majesté la Royne Elizabeth au Seigneur de Sercq A.D. 1572' it was originally presented to the first Seigneur, Helier de Carteret. The Colombier, or dove-cote, is unique as it is the exclusive right of the Seigneur to keep doves and pigeons. It is a privilege dating back many hundreds of years when pigeons were bred for food and uncontrolled breeding would have endangered the tenants' crops.
The gardens are one of the finest formal gardens in the Channel Islands and have won many awards. The original planning and planting is due largely to the Seigneur's grand-mother, the late Dame Sibyl Hathaway. They remain one of Sark's most popular attractions.
La Seigneurie Gardens are open every day from 10am to 5pm, from Easter until 1st November.